School & Community

School Council

President:
Vice President:
Treasurer:
Secretary:
Sub Committee Convenors
Education:
Finance:
Facilities:
Fundraising & Events:

Naomi Douglas
Steve Marshall
Glen Sullivan
Joanne Barnes
 
Joanne Barnes / Leanne Marshall
Glen Sullivan
Andrew Sides
Tamara Cleine

All government schools in Victoria have a school council, a legally constituted body given powers to set the key directions of a school within statewide guidelines. In doing this, a school council is able to directly influence the quality of education that the school provides for its students.

Being a member on school council does require commitment, time and a hands on approach.

This year there will again have a number of projects earmarked for school councilors to action and oversee.

We would be particularly interested in a school council member who could offer skills and enthusiasm in following areas:

  • An interest in helping to develop our external and internal environments.
  • An interest in further building our positive school culture to promote community pride and participation in events. Assist in overseeing school events, and increasing event participation and targeted marketing.
Diary Dates

Term 2 2019

Wednesday 8th May - 3 Way Conferences
Friday 10th May - Mother's Day Stall
Monday 13th May - Yr 2 Coal Creek Excursion
Wednesday 15th May - Yr 6 Dromana Transition Visit
Friday 17th May - House Cross Country
Saturday 18th May - Election Day BBQ
Tuesday 21st May - Yr 1 Melb. Museum Excursion
Wednesday 22nd May - Yr 6 Netball/Girls Football
Wednesday 29th May - District Cross Country
Thursday 30th May - Yr 5 Moonlit Sanctuary Excursion
Wednesday 26th June - Yr 6 Winter Lightning Premiership

 

Term Dates

Term 1 - January 29-April 5
Term 2 - April 22-June 28
Term 3 - July 15-Sept 20
Term 4 - Oct 7-Dec 20

Holidays

Thursday 25th April - Anzac Day
Monday 10th June - Queen's Birthday
Friday 27th Sept - AFL Grand Final Friday