School Life

Art

Mr Ian Jarman

Term 3

Liz Walker has been working with grade 5F on a project called Mapping the Bay. This community workshop supported by the Mornington Peninsula Shire invites the students to actively participate in a creative public artwork celebrating their experiences of living in the Mornington Peninsula – a region recognized for its diverse and spectacular natural beauty. Sections of the student’s  artwork which have been photographed  and printed were cut  to size and glued to wooden map pieces. The pieces fit together to form a map of the Mornington Peninsula that is colorful and fun but has a serious environmental message about the importance of preserving our precious marine environment.

Heads and Tails

Last week we celebrated Book Week. The preps looked at the book Heads and Tails :Insects by John Canty. They each decorated a bug or insect as wearable art. They used a product called magiclay and modelling foam to decorate their insect adding joggle eyes. We used supertac glue to glue on a ring base onto the back of the insect.

Book Week

Next week is Book Week and each grade will be creating a piece of artwork based on the Theme and Short Listed Early Childhood and Picture Books. Samples of their work will be displayed in their classrooms and at the Book Fair.

Preps: Heads and Tails: Insects

Grade 1 Here comes Stinkbug!

Grade 2 Noni the Pony Rescues a Joey

Grade 3 Tricky’s Bad Day

Grade 4 The Mediterranean

Grade 5 Rainbow Bear

Grade 6 Chalk Boy

Diary Dates

Term 4 2019

Mon 7th Oct - Term 4 Starts
Sun 13th Oct - Fire Season Ready Working Bee
Wed 16th Oct - Yr 6 Exhibition
Thurs 17th Oct - Regional Athletics
Mon 21st - Wed 23rd Oct- Yr 3 Briars Camp
Mon 21st - Wed 23rd Oct- Yr 5 Urban Camp
Fri 1st Nov - Yr 5 Science Expo Excursion
Wed 20th - Fri 22nd Nov - Yr 6  Waratah Beach Camp

Term Dates

Term 1 - January 29-April 5
Term 2 - April 22-June 28
Term 3 - July 15-Sept 20
Term 4 - Oct 7-Dec 20

Holidays

Monday 10th June - Queen's Birthday
Monday 15th July - Curriculum Day
Friday 27th Sept - AFL Grand Final Friday
Tuesday 5th Nov - Melbourne Cup Day