School Life

Art

Mr Ian Jarman

Term 3

Liz Walker has been working with grade 5F on a project called Mapping the Bay. This community workshop supported by the Mornington Peninsula Shire invites the students to actively participate in a creative public artwork celebrating their experiences of living in the Mornington Peninsula – a region recognized for its diverse and spectacular natural beauty. Sections of the student’s  artwork which have been photographed  and printed were cut  to size and glued to wooden map pieces. The pieces fit together to form a map of the Mornington Peninsula that is colorful and fun but has a serious environmental message about the importance of preserving our precious marine environment.

Australian Animals

In Grade Five over the past few weeks the students have been drawing and painting Australian animals from the covers of National Geographic magazines. They have been mixing paint and experimenting with different brushstrokes to create these pictures. These are being displayed outside the library and curved corridor.

Book Week

Next week is Book Week and each grade will be creating a piece of artwork based on the Theme and Short Listed Early Childhood and Picture Books. Samples of their work will be displayed in their classrooms and at the Book Fair.

Preps: Heads and Tails: Insects

Grade 1 Here comes Stinkbug!

Grade 2 Noni the Pony Rescues a Joey

Grade 3 Tricky’s Bad Day

Grade 4 The Mediterranean

Grade 5 Rainbow Bear

Grade 6 Chalk Boy

Diary Dates

Term 3 2019

Wednesday 21st August - Yr6 CERES Park Excursion
Monday 26th August- Special Book Week Assembly
Mon 26th - Thurs 29th August- Book Week / Book Fair
Thursday 29th August - Yr4 Multicultural Excursion China Town
Friday 30th August - Navy Band Visit
Wednesday 4th September- District Athletics
Thursday 5th September- Student Led Conferences
Tuesday 17th September- School Council
Mon 21st - Wed 23rd October- Grade 5 City Camp
Wed 20th - Fri 22nd November - Grade 6 Camp

 

Term Dates

Term 1 - January 29-April 5
Term 2 - April 22-June 28
Term 3 - July 15-Sept 20
Term 4 - Oct 7-Dec 20

Holidays

Monday 10th June - Queen's Birthday
Monday 15th July - Curriculum Day
Friday 27th Sept - AFL Grand Final Friday
Tuesday 5th Nov - Melbourne Cup Day