Specialists

Japanese

Harder Sensei

In Japanese, we learn about the beautiful culture of Japan and communicating in an Asian language. All year levels participate in a range of activities to ignite their interest in one of our closest trading partners and work towards intercultural understanding. As global citizens, we understand that different ways of using the Japanese language shapes and reflects different relationships, such as deciding to be formal or informal. As Japanese language learners we recognise the important use of many formulaic expressions compared to English. “Obey the customs of the village you enter” –Japanese proverb.

 

Grade 1

Grade 1 sorting and matching the animals in the Japanese Zodiac

Grade 6

Grade 6 students saying ‘Konnichiwa’ to our sister school, Aso Elementary School students in Japan by Skype.

Diary Dates

Term 2 2019

Tuesday 4th June - 2020 Prep Tour
Wednesday 5th June - Divisional Cross Country
Wednesday 5th June - Yr 6 Dromana Transition Visit
Wednesday 12th June - 2020 Prep Tour
Monday 17th June - Yr 3 Mornington Excursion
Monday 17th- Friday 21st June - 2020 Prep Enrolment Week
Tuesday 18th June - Parent Forum
Wednesday 19th June - Yr 6 Dromana Transition Visit
Thursday 20th June - Regional Cross Country
Wednesday 26th June - Yr 6 Winter Lightning Premiership
Friday 28th June - End of Term 2, Finish 2.30pm

 

Term Dates

Term 1 - January 29-April 5
Term 2 - April 22-June 28
Term 3 - July 15-Sept 20
Term 4 - Oct 7-Dec 20

Holidays

Monday 10th June - Queen's Birthday
Monday 15th July - Curriculum Day
Friday 27th Sept - AFL Grand Final Friday