Specialists

Japanese

Harder Sensei

In Japanese, we learn about the beautiful culture of Japan and communicating in an Asian language. All year levels participate in a range of activities to ignite their interest in one of our closest trading partners and work towards intercultural understanding. As global citizens, we understand that different ways of using the Japanese language shapes and reflects different relationships, such as deciding to be formal or informal. As Japanese language learners we recognise the important use of many formulaic expressions compared to English. “Obey the customs of the village you enter” –Japanese proverb.

 

Grade 1

Grade 1 sorting and matching the animals in the Japanese Zodiac

Grade 6

Grade 6 students saying ‘Konnichiwa’ to our sister school, Aso Elementary School students in Japan by Skype.

Grade 3

Grade 3s are learning how to recognize the systematic order of the Hiragana chart and write their names in Katakana.

Diary Dates

Term 4 2019

Fri 1st Nov - Yr 5 Science Expo Excursion
Tues 12th Nov- 2nd Prep Transition
Thurs 14th Nov- Girls and Boys Regional Cricket
Tues 19th Nov- School Council
Wed 20th - Fri 22nd Nov - Yr 6  Waratah Beach Camp
Fri 6th Dec- Prep Scienceworks Excursion
Thurs 12th Dec- Innovators Arcade
Thurs 12th Dec- Christmas Carols
Fri 13th Dec- Colour Run
Mon 16th Dec- Grade 6 Graduation
Tues 17th Dec- School Council
Wed 18th Dec- Grade 6 Activities Day

 

Term Dates

Term 1 - January 29-April 5
Term 2 - April 22-June 28
Term 3 - July 15-Sept 20
Term 4 - Oct 7-Dec 20

Holidays

Monday 10th June - Queen's Birthday
Monday 15th July - Curriculum Day
Friday 27th Sept - AFL Grand Final Friday
Tuesday 5th Nov - Melbourne Cup Day