Welcome to Term 2

Year 1

No longer the new kids on the block, our Year 1 students are ready to take bigger steps in their education. Walking alongside these students are 5 highly dedicated teachers; Miss Chloe Russell, Ms Cassie Ellis, Ms Deanne Holmes, Miss Brooke Loader and Miss Jenna McBride.

Culture

This term we have started tuning in to our new Big Idea ‘People Share Culture through Stories’. Our first essential question is ‘What is culture?’ and together in our grades we have developed our own definition of what culture is. We have a common understanding that culture is the different ways that people live from all over the world. This week we have been lucky enough to video call a past student from semester 1 who has moved to Cambodia. We were able to ask questions to find out how different life and school is in a different country.

Zones of Regulation

All the grade 1 students have been using the Zones of Regulation in their classrooms. We have been encouraging each student to develop emotional self-understanding and emotional self-regulation by identifying what zone they are in and providing each other with strategies to get back to the green zone.

Bollywood Dancing and African Drumming

Grade 1 students have had two incursions the past two weeks, African drumming and Bollywood dancing. They found out about music, instruments and clothing from both Africa and India.

Diary Dates

Term 4 2019

Fri 1st Nov - Yr 5 Science Expo Excursion
Tues 12th Nov- 2nd Prep Transition
Thurs 14th Nov- Girls and Boys Regional Cricket
Tues 19th Nov- School Council
Wed 20th - Fri 22nd Nov - Yr 6  Waratah Beach Camp
Fri 6th Dec- Prep Scienceworks Excursion
Thurs 12th Dec- Innovators Arcade
Thurs 12th Dec- Christmas Carols
Fri 13th Dec- Colour Run
Mon 16th Dec- Grade 6 Graduation
Tues 17th Dec- School Council
Wed 18th Dec- Grade 6 Activities Day

 

Term Dates

Term 1 - January 29-April 5
Term 2 - April 22-June 28
Term 3 - July 15-Sept 20
Term 4 - Oct 7-Dec 20

Holidays

Monday 10th June - Queen's Birthday
Monday 15th July - Curriculum Day
Friday 27th Sept - AFL Grand Final Friday
Tuesday 5th Nov - Melbourne Cup Day