Welcome to Term 2

Year 3

This is the year that students cross over the half way mark of their time at Primary School. They are no longer a part of the Junior school and they are ready to take all the knowledge that they have already gained into their future learning. Assisting these students in the transition from Junior to Middle school are four fantastic teachers; Mrs Kate Emry, Mrs Heffernan, Miss Imogen Green and Mrs Mel Whipp.

Mornington

Students have continued to explore our inquiry topic ‘Australia is made up of diverse communities’. Last week Year 3 students enjoyed a lovely sunny day exploring the local community of Mornington. We visited the Shire Offices to learn about the services that are provided to different groups within our community. Students also visited the Mornington Post Office Museum and old Court House to find out about how our community has changed over time.

Learning Exploration

This term, our Year 3 Learning Explorations focus is ‘Australia is made up of diverse communities’. Students will be learning about what it means to belong in a community, and ways in which people with different backgrounds and experiences contribute to our cultural mix. The story ‘Are we there yet?’ by Alison Lester will be help to introduce some of the concepts in our inquiry topic.

Diary Dates

Term 2 2019

Tuesday 4th June - 2020 Prep Tour
Wednesday 5th June - Divisional Cross Country
Wednesday 5th June - Yr 6 Dromana Transition Visit
Wednesday 12th June - 2020 Prep Tour
Monday 17th June - Yr 3 Mornington Excursion
Monday 17th- Friday 21st June - 2020 Prep Enrolment Week
Tuesday 18th June - Parent Forum
Wednesday 19th June - Yr 6 Dromana Transition Visit
Thursday 20th June - Regional Cross Country
Wednesday 26th June - Yr 6 Winter Lightning Premiership
Friday 28th June - End of Term 2, Finish 2.30pm

 

Term Dates

Term 1 - January 29-April 5
Term 2 - April 22-June 28
Term 3 - July 15-Sept 20
Term 4 - Oct 7-Dec 20

Holidays

Monday 10th June - Queen's Birthday
Monday 15th July - Curriculum Day
Friday 27th Sept - AFL Grand Final Friday