Welcome to Term 2

Year 4

With Senior School looming in the distance, our Year 4 students are rapidly preparing for the pointy end of Primary School. The first 4 years have absolutely flown by and each student has grown as an individual. The dedicated teachers working alongside these students are Mrs Rebecca Holmes, Miss Jana King, Mr James Graham and Ms Danielle Cuttler.

Personal Strengths

Our shiny new Grade Fours have hit the ground running in 2019. This term’s Learning Exploration, ‘Effective learners identify personal strengths, collaborate and reflect’ has asked students to look outward and inwards and identify the personal strengths of themselves and those around them, as well as inspiring children who have collaborated around the world. Going forward, groups will be collaborating to create an action plan that will improve school life for all students.

Ocean Biodiversity

This term, our Grade 4 scientists have enthusiastically explored the Big Idea ‘Ocean biodiversity requires conservation and community action.’ As part of our investigation into the plants and animals living within our local Port Phillip Bay, students have explored the difference between a food web and a food chain. This has included understanding the interdependent relationship between marine plants and animals and the effect to the food web which occurs if one or more species are extinct or endangered.

Diary Dates

Term 4 2019

Mon 7th Oct - Term 4 Starts
Sun 13th Oct - Fire Season Ready Working Bee
Wed 16th Oct - Yr 6 Exhibition
Thurs 17th Oct - Regional Athletics
Mon 21st - Wed 23rd Oct- Yr 3 Briars Camp
Mon 21st - Wed 23rd Oct- Yr 5 Urban Camp
Fri 1st Nov - Yr 5 Science Expo Excursion
Wed 20th - Fri 22nd Nov - Yr 6  Waratah Beach Camp

Term Dates

Term 1 - January 29-April 5
Term 2 - April 22-June 28
Term 3 - July 15-Sept 20
Term 4 - Oct 7-Dec 20

Holidays

Monday 10th June - Queen's Birthday
Monday 15th July - Curriculum Day
Friday 27th Sept - AFL Grand Final Friday
Tuesday 5th Nov - Melbourne Cup Day